“Discovery for the Sake of Discovery”

June 1, 2006 at 7:50 am 2 comments

Please read a very eloquent piece by Lawrence Krauss called Discovery for the Sake of Discovery. It is published in SEED magazine as part of a series on the LHC. Krauss makes a most basic and fundamental justification for high-energy physics experiments – they are an important example of what is good about our civilization. For me, this is the real reason why we should do particle physics, both on the experimenal and the theoretical side.

But don't waste time reading my comment – read his article please!

Entry filed under: Particle Physics.

ATLAS observes cosmic-ray events underground! Serendipity in HEP?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Travis  |  June 1, 2006 at 2:16 pm

    Aww, you beat me to it. I’ll have to think of something else to write about.

    It is a excellent piece. He does a good job discussing why we should do science, and why it is so important. I wish I could say it as well as him.

    So, I agree, go and read it.

    Reply
  • 2. Dimitri Terryn  |  June 4, 2006 at 7:33 am

    I agree, nice article.
    I had never heard of the “cathedrals of the 20th century” comparison, but I think it’s a very evocative one. I’ll have to use from now on.

    This is a great time to be a physics student 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

