I thought I would be discussing new physics

December 23, 2008 at 8:37 pm 4 comments

Hello again,

nearly one year since my last post (sorry!), I am willing to pick up this effort again.  

I had hoped to be writing about signs of new physics from the LHC or the Tevatron – or a least progress in analyzing the first LHC collision data.  You all know about the magnificent start-up of the LHC, and the awful catastrophe a short time later.  CERN has approached the problem with great professionalism, skill, and urgency, and I am optimistic about seeing collision data in late summer, 2009.

I won’t wait that long before making another blog entry…

Michael

Entry filed under: Particle Physics. Tags: .

DOE cuts: bad P.R. ? How many times do we have to discover the Higgs boson?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. toto  |  December 24, 2008 at 5:46 am

    waiting for real data to come… merry Christmas!

    Reply
  • 2. dorigo  |  December 24, 2008 at 11:04 am

    welcome back Michael, I hope you’ve come to stay this time!

    Merry christmas,
    T.

    Reply
  • 3. observer  |  December 24, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Personal public blogs become boring. Would you say the same words to your friends? We have tons of official news from CERN, which have zero content due to their political constraints. Do you mean reading news about the accident in Google is a professional way to share information on CERN behalf? Do you expect any other lab in the world would just sit and wait till the problem is fixed on its own? It was their duty to fix the problem and it’s hard to judge how well it was done given how little information is shared.

    Anyway, happy holidays.

    Reply
  • 4. Michael Schmitt  |  December 24, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Hi Observer,

    you are right. Personal public blogs do tend to become boring, and I refrained from linking in all sorts of official and public material for this very reason.

    To give you a direct answer: YES, my simple statement extolling the approach of CERN management and the accelerator people is sincere and less superficial than it appears. I have made this statement to friends and colleagues several times in recent weeks. I REALLY do admire the way in which they have responded to this crisis. Their activity is much more than simply waiting around for the problem to fix itself – I do think their approach sets a good example for other labs and large projects. Yes, it is their duty – the question is how well they acquit themselves of that duty. We won’t be able to give a definitive answer until next year, but I am personally very encouraged by what I see now (and other people are, too).

    I am glad you challenged my post in this way. I try not to make public criticisms of anyone or any activity, since I believe that to be corrosive and unethical. But that does not mean that my public praise is insincere or pro forma.

    thanks very much!
    Michael

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

